Tested but not crushed

Andrew Plath, Wildlight Photography

Photo Credit: Andrew Plath, Wildlight Photography

Tested but not crushed… I’ll explain where that phrase comes from in a bit.

 

 

As you get to know me, you will find that I become very passionate about people or things that help me grow. In about 2003, a friend e-mailed me and her group of friends a link to Flylady (www.flylady.net) and said, someone might find this helpful. That was an understatement for sure! You’ll have to check out Flylady for yourself but she has definitely changed my life. A life coach could probably describe her. Yes, she’s a life coach to about 500,000 people around the world right now.

 

A brave woman, also known as Marla Cilley, she has steadily expanded her network of helpers to include a wide range of individuals specialized in areas that can help anyone. She teaches babysteps and connects you with her base of contacts. You can find all about Flylady’s friends by going to her website but the one that got me started on this blog topic today was her virtual personal trainer, Jonathon Roche, who has become my virtual personal trainer too.

I waffled about getting Jonathan’s Momentum Weight Loss System and have now found it to be right up on one of the best decisions I ever made. His heart rate monitor and the encouraging DVDs make me realize why I reached a plateau with my fitness goals. I wasn’t working hard enough! My target heart rate this morning was 153. Jonathan teaches how to use intervals (working for 3 to 5 minutes to get to a specific heart rate and building those incrementally through a 30 minute workout with recovery time between each 3 – 5 minute build up). On non-interval days, he advises you to do his No Excuses Workout which works on strengthening your muscle groups. Throughout the workout he is coaching and encouraging. His pet phrase is “We want to test you but not crush you.” He encourages you to work to meeting the goals of each session but not to the point of hurting yourself.

 

As I think about those words, “test you but not crush you”, it reminds me too of a Bible passage which talks about not giving you more burdens than you can bear. (1 Corinthians 10:13).  “He’ll never let you be pushed past your limit; he’ll always be there to see you through it,” is how my Message version of the Bible puts it.

 

With the challenges of the economy, Wall Street, election, and everything else happening on the news these days, I think many of us relate to feeling crushed. I’ve been in business for 25 years as a résumé writer and never have I seen my new résumé client numbers for Design Resumes drop as low as it has for the past month or so. I have to cling to both Jonathan’s advice and the Bible’s advice and know that I am being tested but I am not meant to be crushed.

 

I pull all my resources together at times like these. I read the Word more, I network with friends both to stay positive and let them know I am looking for business, I work on learning new marketing strategies, and I catch up on all the projects that got stuck while I was so busy for years. I use strategies Flylady has taught me, like using her timer, “You can do anything for 15 minutes” to keep working toward goals. Don’t forget to check her out on www.flylady.net!

 

My business contracts with Wausau Whitewater so my résumé writing side is not my only source of income. As the non-profit’s Operations Coordinator, I stay busy working on marketing and planning for the next whitewater season on the downtown whitewater course in Wausau, Wisconsin.

 

Again, all of my resources get pulled together and I remind myself that I am being tested but not crushed and I think this is critical for all of us these days. What about you? Are you being tested?
4 Responses to “Tested but not crushed”


  1. 1 kwbridge November 7, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    Since June 2007 it has been one thing after another in my life. I keep thinking I can’t possible handle one more thing. I must be VERY strong if I’m not being given more than I can bear. I definitely feel like I am being tested.

    Last Winter when things were at their lowest point I said to my Mother, “I can’t do this.” And she replied, “You don’t have a choice.” They were not the words that I wanted to hear but she was SO right.

    I have learned a lot from these experiences and have tried things that I never found the time to do before such as the blog and freelancing. Getting through these things has made me more confident in my own abilities.

    But, whew, financial problems are just one part of it for me. I really would like things to start getting easier.

    I am really enjoying your articles, Julie. I like how you relate your business, personal issues, things you have learned and your faith. And thanks so much for the link – it means so much to me :-)

  2. 2 Julie Walraven November 8, 2008 at 12:20 am

    Thank you, Kim! I really believe in helping one another. For the most part, I can’t even stop myself from helping others. But that is another post, another day…

    And your mother is right! At one point, there were so many trials in my life that I was positive that I would never come up for air. It was at that point, that I found a friend or two that really stood by me, coached me and taught me how to rebound. My life has never been easy and there are days that makes me want to quit but then I touch base with a friend or two and change my attitude.

    I’m working on a debt reduction plan but there was a time when I was so far under, I didn’t think I would ever make progress but I have. There are wonderful resources out there. I have a friend who’s a director of Crown Financial Ministries and I am planning to take Business by the Book in the near future.

    I can’t leave my faith out of my blog because it affects how I view the world. Neither do I feel that I need to push it down anyone’s throat because I believe that you need to make that choice on your own.

    Blessings, my friend!

  3. 3 kwbridge November 8, 2008 at 2:53 am

    Julie,

    I just came back to view the responses and see that you’ve been working on the site. The pictures look great!

  4. 4 Julie Walraven November 8, 2008 at 4:04 am

    Hi Kim, my brother is one of my photographers for Wausau Whitewater. I e-mailed him and asked if he had anything he would let me use for the site. He provided the ones you see in Tested but not Crushed and Are People Getting Ruder? I’m going to explore my other photographers for blog potentials.


Leave a Reply

Subscribe to Feedburner

Follow Me on Twitter

http://twitter.com/JulieWalraven

12for12K

12for12k-banner-234x60-3-animated

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

